EMPOWERED

empower

Last year, the management of the company I’m working at decided that we need to move from one building to another. I work in a ship repair company by the way. Its not very far from our old building but imagine this, relocating an entire building (its not really big, I’m exaggerating :P), like seriously? Personally, we only move from 2 houses before. And for the most part of the move I’m MIA, it’s either I’m at work or I’m tired from work. So I’m not really familiar with moving and relocating.

So here goes, no one really prepared for the move, not until we’re days away from the set date. And ofcourse, my boss, as the initiator of the said movement and ofcourse as the general manager, we, the executive department must instigate the packing and arranging the new building. It’s not supposed to be spearheaded by us, but for some reasons they assigned it to Janine and Me. Well, not really just us, be we take charge. I remember a scene when my boss is really frustrated that no one is really preparing, so he said “We’ll start this afternoon”. FOR REALS! So we start making phone calls, getting the schedule for the boom truck, making decisions about furniture to throw and to keep. It was crazy!

What makes this project such a tiring and at the same time wonderful one for me is that my boss “empowered” us. We’re in charge! There are times when they say “See that lady, she’s in charge, whatever she says, you do it”. Boom. Instant power. But I took that as a challenge too.

With great power comes great responsibility

Oh yes, the responsibility! What if we choose the wrong furniture, what if they don’t like it, what if someone mistook us for being too bossy, and many other what if.

And so we work just like any other in the company. We lift boxes, climb ladders, paint things, glue things and the likes. Also, it was a humbling experience to have work with all the employees in the company, even those who we rarely see because they’re working in the dock. We got to call them “boss” too! You know it feels warm if people do the things you say not because they’re afraid of you but because they just want to help you. It was an experience that brought us closer to other employees. It also stretch us to our limits and helped bring out other things that we thought we can’t do. It taught me that “favor” is better than “connections”. We may have lots of connections but not everyone is favored. 🙂 Someone always tells us that, “Connections, connections that you don’t have” he said. But at the back of my mind “Ha! Favor, favor that you don’t have. Somehow we are favored and empowered.

It was successful. Got 2 weeks of almost no sleep. Muscle pain, blood, sweat and tears, literally! All was paid of when my boss and others appreciate the success of the move. It’s one of the best experience in my SDC life. HAHA

XO,

temp (1)

Any Feedbacks?

